Bridging the Gap rather than Creating Gaps in the Bridges

Many Afrikans on the continent learned in the colonial and neocolonial systems of education the same nonsense about Afrikans in the various parts of the diaspora that we learn about Afrikans at home and because of that mutual Eurocentric brainwashing, the way they react to us is often as negative as we react to them. We don’t “see” our common brotherhood and sisterhood, except in the historical abstract, because those who enslaved us and colonized them have no interest in teaching either of us about our common bonds and need to collectively work together. I recognize the problems, but that’s not a reason for us not doing the work of getting around them. The French and the Germans have a bitter history against each other. But they work together in the European community: judicially, economically, and politically. We must do the same. And we must stop making excuses. And stop listening to those who do little but tell us what we CANNOT do all the while doing NOTHING.

The existence of various rifts between us cannot be a perpetual and cowardly hypocritical excuse for us as a people not working on healing them and doing whatever we can as individuals and as a collective towards that healing. It’s like saying I’m so hungry, I’m too hungry to go fix myself something to eat. Such a fool will die of starvation.

To the naysayers on Afrikans’ capacity to work together, despite challenges. I work every day with Afrikans around the world who love each other. For that matter with people in general who love each other. Does EVERY person love others? Nice idea, but NO. Yet as a servant of the Lord, I believe that if I am willing to do His will to build, that He will identify those with whom I can work constructively and those from whom I should stray. And He has never disappointed me. If I trusted in individual Afrikans, at home or abroad, or if I trusted in any other people as such, I would certainly be discouraged. I am NOT discouraged because my trust is not there. Evil will always want to stop righteous progress. It comes in all nationalities and colors and languages and cultures. Afrikans are no exception. But I believe against the will of God, it will ultimately fall. I may not see that end, but our faith requires that we work towards the good even when we cannot see the end and may not be the immediate beneficiaries. As King said, it’s walking up the stairs without seeing the top one but knowing that it is about the walk and the calling to come up, not the end. Even since I was a child I have been waiting proverbially for Garvey in the whirlwind and Christ manifest in the hearts and society of man, and I STILL do.

Leave a Reply

