It Ain’t My Fault

We were once Afrikans, knew ourselves to be, were not trying to become anything else, and known by others to be. I have been doing some family research for several years, both for my birth family and my adoptive family. I discovered in my adoptive family the world war I draft registration cards for both of my grandfathers. The draft cards at the time had few options for ethnicity or “race” or anything of the kind and this is close to the end of slavery and certainly at the dawn of Jim Crow. Yet BOTH cards, signed by my grandfathers in two rural Georgia counties, almost 100 years ago and independent of each other, shows them identifying themselves and being identified and certified as AFRICANS. Not “Negro”, not “colored”, not “black”, but AFRICANS and they wrote it in their own hands almost a century ago. The confusion as to who we are is far more recent than we think and NOT as the myth says due to slavery or the lack of formal education, but instead due to a formal political and social strategy to disconnect Afrikans from themselves and their own knowledge of themselves and those like them. Rural, poor, Southern, racist and yet they were not confused, so I ask Afrikans today what’s YOUR excuse for trying to be everything but who you are and to connect with everything but your own? Yes, I said that and OUT LOUD. My grandfathers knew who THEY were. One was a farmer and the other a slightly below working class man of the time (hired hand for semiskilled work)..two Africans in Babylon. I am proud to be their adoptive grandson and I never met either of them, but I hope and feel that they are proud that their grandson knows who HE is too. And I’m gone run tell that while some folk gone be quiet as a church mouse.

And despite their imposed economic and educational deficits and disadvantages, they also knew what their skin color was and the difference between that and the way they were treated BECAUSE of that and who they were as cultural and social beings. This is why the Afrosuperblackclaptrap narratives drive me insane. Those who were enslaved in the past (not to mention those who were not who are invisible in the stories) are blamed for the behaviors and deprivation of the community today, but if really study them, for all their difficulties, they collectively KNEW more with less schooling, BUILT more with no money, and worked together more with an overt violent system of oppression against them than negroes today who sit around and have the nerve to make excuses for sloth and cowardice and lack of leadership initiative and who have the gall and audacity to blame our ancestors (!!!!) for their pitiable contemporary condition. I’m gone to create a No Limit slave t-shirt with a brother with chains looking at one of these fake gangstas with they pants down with a gat disrespecting some sister and have a balloon over the brother in bondage saying “It ain’t my fault.”

Leave a Reply

