Slavery Was Never A “Moral Dilemma”

Whether I choose to enslave another human being or not is not for me a “moral” dilemma, but an evil, reprehensible solution to one. It’s like saying I can shoot and kill you in a particular situation because it benefits me or I can choose not to. What’s the “dilemma”? Police say they have the same “dilemma” when they shoot unarmed people. I think the only “dilemma” is whether you are going to do good or evil. When you go good you and God deserve the credit. When you do evil, you and the devil deserve the blame. I don’t think morals are part of the equation at all if the nature of profits to begin with is the bodies and blood and labor of fellow human beings and you know it.

Leave a Reply

