The Limits of Giving

Note to self: Never GIVE or OFFER to anyone emotionally, spiritually, or materially more than that which you are at least prepared to LOSE if the gift is never reciprocated, the debt never paid back. If you ask me for $10, IF I give it, I must give it AS IF I will get nothing in return, even if you say it will be a loan. If I know up front that its mere gift will ultimately undermine our love and friendship, or create an obligation I choose to or must place on your head and continually make the focus of our interactions, then I should refrain, choosing the greater good. Too often I voluntarily give people more of myself than they deserve and then get mad at them when they, the undeserving,who essentially got something for nothing, don’t come through for me. Unnecessary pain I inflict on myself.

Leave a Reply

