avoid becoming the enemy

Note to Self (i.e. I am still one of God’s construction projects): My disagreement with a mere opinion cannot allow me to lose civility with other people. Nor does it justify me being mean or hurtful to them. When the level of the discourse goes down, we don’t go down with it. The lesson of Christ is that in response, we seek to raise the discourse. When people err, I seek to teach and dialogue. When they wrong me, I seek to deal with the consequences of the wrong in a way that they might learn sympathy and empathy and the nature of their error. But if I become in character as they in their error, I am no better than they and will be no more a contributor to anything positive.

Leave a Reply

